Introducing: SKIES

Meet, Jericho Tozer and Alie Cotter, an synth-pop duo from Folkestone, Kent. Their music, both powerful in meaning and catchy in sound. I recently got in touch with them to find out more about the band and their music. They are a growing band in the upcoming scene in Kent. Two-piece bands are becoming more and more popular in the music industry, with duos such as Slaves and Royal Blood owning the scene. The duo co-write and co-produce their own material and are such a skilled band with so much passion and effort being poured into their music, this is made crystal clear by their debut EP, ‘If You Feel Like It’, which was released at the end of 2015. My favourite songs from the EP are ‘Drone’ and ‘Feel Like It’. They have also released 3 singles in 2016, most recently ‘Leave Me’ which was released at the end of September. Their sound, in my eyes, is reminiscent of Paramore, especially Alie. The band is an exciting prospect with their second EP being released too! For any fan of Panic! At the Disco or more generically emotional indie or synth-pop, check out SKIES.

skies-press-shot-1-482a0070

For more on the two piece, you can read my interview with Jericho and Alie.

Tell me about your band – Who’s in it, where did you form, how did you meet?

Jericho: We are Alie Cotter (lead vocals/guitar) and Jericho Tozer (Backing vocals/drums) and we’re from Folkestone in Kent! We met a few years ago through my brother who was the bassist in Alie’s band. I was the lead singer and guitarist in my own band but started working with Alie in her band, then we started the SKIES project and the rest is history.

What is your dream venue or festival to headline?

Alie: We’d love to headline Glastonbury! It’s such a prestigious slot to play and establishes you as the biggest band/artist in the world at that moment in time so that’s on my bucket list I guess.

Being from Folkestone, what have been your influences, anyone local?

Jericho: It’s kinda classic to say, but locally our influences have come from the people around us rather than the music around our area. There are some good bands around in Kent and it’s great to see the Kent scene grow, it’s inspiring to be a part of that! We’re also really lucky to have found a producer who inspires us who lives in our hometown too!

What inspires your lyrics?

A: Every day things – overhearing conversations. I’m always writing down a one liner to use when I get a chance to sit down and pull it all together. I think a lot, so a lot of my songs are about things I’m thinking about that I want to get out of my head. I really love 1975’s lyrical style, so literal and real but at the same time there’s so much wit and poetry in there too, I get inspired by that.

Who would be your dream artist to perform with, dead or alive?

J: That’s a difficult one… Maybe it shouldn’t be. I don’t know, how dreadful.

A: I’d have to say Twentyone Pilots.

What is your favourite album/single ever?

J: Is there such thing as one favourite album? Haha…. My vibe album of the last 12 months has been Double Down by Darwin Deez..

A: I think this is a really hard question. I am in love with Florence and the Machines album ‘How big, how blue, how beautiful’ – but I wouldn’t like to ever say ‘ever’!

 When and why did you start playing?

A: I started singing and playing music as far back as I can remember. I’ve been writing and playing in bands since primary school. I started my first band in year 5 or 6 I think.

J: I’m the same. I started writing and playing in primary school and started recording towards the end of primary. It’s just one of those things that’s in us to do. It’s all we want to do!

What are you working on right now?

J: We have just finished recording our second EP which will be due out sometime next year. We’re just about to play our debut London headline show at the Camden Assembly (was Barfly) which is happening on Wednesday 19th October. We’re really excited to try out new material and throw in some surprises too.

What venue/festival has been you’re favourite to play at?

A: We’ve been lucky enough to play KOKO in Camden a few times and it’s just the best experience. Big crowd, big stage, big sound…

If you could tour with any band who could it be?

J: I’m a big Twentyone Pilots fan and I’d be lying if I said I didn’t want to go on tour with them! Maybe one day!

For more on the band, check them out on Facebook, Spotify, Twitter and Instagram

 

Leave a Reply

