Single Review: Yuk Foo, Wolf Alice

So they are back. Back in 2015, they released their stellar debut album, My Love Is Cool and after two years of non-stop touring, they have returned. Our favourite indie-rockers, Wolf Alice. After speculation of new music grew after posters being plastered around the country and a series of posted to fans across the UK. They delivered Yuk Foo, the first track of their just-announced sophomore album, Visions of Life which drops 29th September. My Love is Cool consequently gave the band, a huge following and various album of the year nominations, including The Mercury Prize.

Image result for wolf alice yuk foo

Wolf Alice gave us explosive, dirty rock in My Love is Cool through tracks such as Giant Peach or Moaning Lisa Smile. However, Yuk Foo is an overdose of sinister but we love it. This track has shown how their sound has matured into something much bigger, showing off their talent. Yuk Foo is pure messy, gritty rock and nothing short of aggressive. Ellie is taking no prisoners as she shouts down the microphone. The track is open to interpretation as to its meaning but this is intentional. Speaking of Yuk Foo, Ellie says its ‘so that anyone who was frustrated at something could have it as their anthem’. My god, is it an anthem. This is one that is definitely made for the live show. Ellie continues, ‘For me, its about being a young women. Even, the shit wolf whistling thing. As I get older, I feel like “Why have I put up with that”‘. This song is a reaction towards anything that you hate. The song breaks down the boundary between you and the band and is in your face from the get go, it’s really intimidating but is all encompassing and each second draws you into the whirlpool of darkness and taboo Wolf Alice have created. This track was Annie Mac’s Hottest Record and seemed to anger many listeners due to its non-radio friendly nature and frequent cussing. The fury filled aura and continuous snarling leaves you physically shook but gives you an adrenaline rush, this is what rock music should be like.

Wolf Alice

The lyrics are as menacing and ill-mannered as the tracks overall sound. “You bore me, you bore me to death, you deplore me and I don’t give a shit”, this track is just outright naughty. I wouldn’t want to be the subject of this song, jeez. “I wanna fuck all the people I meet, Fuck all my friends and all the people on the street”, sending shivers down my spine, each line cuts deeper and deeper, leaving me with an experience, I will not forget. The track finished on a piercing shriek. This is a track which shows Wolf Alice are ready to take on the world and couldn’t care less about what people think.Wolf Alice also announced a huge UK tour, which includes their biggest show to date at Alexandra Palace, alongside the news of their highly anticipated second album, Visions of A Life, which is released 29 September. Here are all the dates:

08 02 Academy, Bristol, UK
09 02 Apollo, Manchester, UK
11 Barrowlands, Glasgow, UK
13 02 Academy, Newcastle, UK
15 Rock City, Nottingham, UK
16 02 Academy, Birmingham, UK
17 UEA, Norwich, UK
18 02 Academy, Leeds, UK
20 Dome, Brighton, UK
21 02 Guildhall, Southampton, UK
24 Alexandra Palace, London, UK
27 Ulster Hall, Belfast, UK
28 Olympia, Dublin, Ireland
 Tickets go on sale on Friday 16th June at 9am on See, Ticketmaster and AXS

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s